Organizers: Marcel Adenäuer, Annelies Deuss, LeeAnn Jackson (OECD), and Andrew Muhammad (University of Tennessee)

The International Agricultural Trade Research Consortium  is grateful for the work of the planning committee of Marcel Adenauer, Annelies Deuss, and LeeAnn Jackson from OECD, and Andrew Muhammad from the University of Tennessee.  The IATRC gratefully acknowledges the continuing support of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, the USDA Economic Research Service, the USDA Foreign Agricultural Service, and the USDA Office of the Chief Economist.

Due to travel restrictions related to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2021 summer symposium was conducted on a virtual platform.

Download Printable Agenda

Program Day 1

Plenary Session 01: Bottlenecks and opportunities during the COVID-19 crises

Moderator: Frank van Tongeren (OECD)

Parallel Session 01

Moderator: Fabio Santeramo (University of Foggia)

  • Has Global Agricultural Trade Been Resilient under Coronavirus (COVID-19)? Findings from an Econometric Assessment
    Shawn Arita (USDA Office of the Chief Economist), Jason Grant (Virginia Tech), Sharon Sydow (USDA Office of the Chief Economist), and Jayson Beckman (USDA Economic Research Service)
  • COVID-19 Effects on Agricultural and Food Trade: A Developing Country Perspective
    Soojung Ahn (University of Connecticut) and Sandro Steinbach (University of Connecticut)
  • Agricultural Trade and Environmental Sustainability
    Kathy Baylis (University of California Santa Barbara), Thomas Heckelei (University of Bonn), Thomas Hertel (Purdue University)

Parallel Session 02: Organized Session on China’s role in international grain markets

Moderator: Nathan Kemp (IGC)

Parallel Session 03: Organized Session on The Contributions of Trade and Agri-Food Value Chains to Resilience – What Have We Learned from the COVID-19 Crisis?

Moderator: Ekaterina Krivonos (System Organization, CGIAR)

Parallel Session 04

Moderator: Ignacio Perez-Dominguez (JRC)

Program Day 2

Plenary Session 02: Policy responses during the COVID-19 crisis

Moderator: Jonathan Brooks (OECD)

Parallel Session 05

Moderator: Jonathan Coleman (U.S. International Trade Commission)

Parallel Session 06

Moderator: Ian Sheldon (Ohio State University)

  • European and Member State Policy Responses and Economic Impacts on Agri-Food Markets due to the COVID-19 Pandemic
    Christine Wieck (University of Hohenheim), Liesbeth Dries (Wageningen University), Victor Martinez-Gomez (Universitat Politècnica de València), Olayinka Idowu Kareem (University of Hohenheim), Bettina Rudloff (German Institute for Security Affairs Berlin), Fabio Gaetano Santeramo (University of Foggia), Magdelena Sliwinska, Rafal Sliwinski (Poznan University of Economics and Business)
  • Realigning Policy Interventions on Agricultural Prices: Facilitating Economic Recovery in Low- and Middle-Income Countries in the Post-COVID-19 Era
    Sarah Consoli, Juan José Egas Yerovi, Cristian Morales Opazo (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations)

Parallel Session 07: Organized Session on Agro-Food Trade and Policy Responses to the COVID-19 Pandemic

Moderator: Shawn Arita (USDA Office of the Chief Economist)

Parallel Session 08

Moderator: Lesley Ahmed (U.S. International Trade Commission)

  • Revisiting the Effects of the COVID-19 Pandemic on Canada’s Agricultural Trade: The Surprising Case of an Agricultural Export Boom
    Rick Barichello (University of British Columbia)
  • Impacts of the COVID-19 Pandemic on Global Agricultural Trade
    Helena Engemann, Yaghoob Jafari (University of Bonn), Cosimo Avesani, Ishrat Gadhok, Andrea Zimmerman (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations)
  • A Theoretical Framework to Analyze the Resilience of Agricultural Value Chains to the COVID-19 Crisis
    Lionel Cosnard (GREThA, Université de Bordeaux and French Ministry of Agriculture and Food

Plenary Session 03: Unblocking multilateral trade negotiations in agriculture

Moderator: LeeAnn Jackson (OECD)